Pop Culture with Tatiana


The Headies were originally called the Hip Hop World Awards. It is a music awards show established in 2006 to recognise outstanding achievements in the Nigerian music industry. The 14th edition of the prestigious award show was held on Sunday in the Lekki district of Lagos. Due to the current global pandemic, the event was held virtually, with only a limited amount of people allowed into the ceremony, including many nominees. The show was hosted by funnyman Bovi and Nancy Isime.

The Headies is composed of 25 categories. Open voting decides the winners of the majority of the awards’ categories. However, the Best Recording of the Year, Best Rap Album, Best Vocal Performance (Male), Best Vocal Performance (Female), Lyricist on the Roll, and Best Performer categories are not open to public voting.

The big winner of the evening was Fireboy DML, he went home with awards from four different categories. Wizkid was also another big winner, and actually Wizkid (real name Ayodeji Ibrahim Balogun) is the most awarded artist in the history of The Headies.

Many artists performed live at the show including Master KG who performed his worldwide mega hit “Jerusalema”. Fireboy, Chike, Joeboy, DJ Neptune and Laycon also performed live.

Now let’s start with the full list of winners!

It was expected that it would be a tight race for the highly coveted “Artiste of the Year” category. The nominees included Burna Boy, Davido and Tiwa Savage but the winner was Wizkid.

Surprisingly “African Giant” Burna Boy did not win any awards despite being nominated twice. His album was nominated for “Album of the Year”, but Fireboy DML won for his album “APOLLO”, also beating out “Afro Pop, Vol.1” by Adekunle Gold.

People expected Naira Marley to win the “Best Street Hop” Category Mayorkun came out as the winner.

Surprisingly in the “Next Rated” category, which is an award for the most promising upcoming act of the year, the winner was Omah Lay. He beat Oxlade, Bella Shmurda and Tems who’s video for “Try Me” currently has over 4.6 million views on Youtube.  The winner of this category apparently also wins a brand new car.


The best music video of the year went to Davido’s “1 Milli” directed by Director K. He beat Meji Alabi, Ovie Etseyatse, Clarence Peters and TG Omori.

Best Recording of the Year went to Brymo for “Ozymandias”, he beat Fireboy DML’s “Dreamer”, Burna Boy’s “Wonderful”, Wizkid’s “Smile” and Wurld’s “Ghost Town”.

Best Pop Single went to “Nobody” by Joeboy, Mr Eazi and DJ Neptune. They beat “Joro” by Wizkid, “FEM” by Davido, “Lady” by Rema and more. This was interesting as Davido’s “FEM” was considered the anthem of the recent worlwide #EndSars movement in Nigeria, and his video has almost 20 million views on Youtube.

Best Hip Hop World Revelation also went to Fireboy DML. He beat Joeboy, Teniola Apata, Rema, Chike and Victor AD. This award goes to the artist with a debut album judged to be outstanding in terms of artistic quality and impact within the year.

Best Vocal Male performance went to Praiz for “Under the Sky”. And the Best Female Vocal performance went to Niniola for “Addicted”

The Viewer’s choice award goes to the artist that has had the most digital traction, and last year it was Wizkid. He beat DJ Neptune, Falz, Mayorkun, Fireboy DML, Burna Boy, OMAH LAY and Davido. This is not surprising as within one week of release, Made in Lagos by Wizkid broke several African streaming records. It became the first African album to debut on the Spotify Global Album chart, and within the top ten at that. The album surpassed 100 million streams across five platforms nine days after release, a huge milestone for an Afro-pop artist.

The Best R&B single went to “Tattoo” by Fireboy DML. The single currently has 15 million views on Youtube. He beat “Under the Sky” by Praiz, “MAD” by Sarz, “Dangerous Love” by Tiwa Savage, “Duduke” by Simi and “Bad Influence” by OMAH LAY.

The Best Rap Single went to “Bop Daddy” by Falz featuring Ms Banks.

The Best African Artiste went to South African musician Master KG. His mega hit “Jerusalema” has already surpassed 300 million views on Youtube, and the single went platinum in France, Belgium and Italy. He beat Shatta Wale, Kuami Eugene, Stonebwoy and Sauti Sol.

The Best collaboration went to “Know You” by Simi and LADIPOE. They beat out ‘Nobody’ – DJ Neptune ft. Joeboy and Mr Eazi, ‘Sweet In the Middle’ – Davido ft. Naira Marley, Zlatan and Wurld, ‘Don’t Call Me Back’ – Joeboy ft. Mayorkun, ‘Totori’ – ID Cabasa ft. Wizkid and Olamide and ‘Get the Info’ – Phyno ft. Phenom and Falz.

The best Pop Album went to Fireboy DML for APOLLO. He beat out Adekunle Gold, Burna Boy, Davido and Yemi Alade.

The Best Song Writer of the Year went to Duduke for “Simi”. She beat out Fireboy DML for “Dreamer”, OMAH LAY for “Bad Influence”, Burna Boy for “Way Too Big”, Ghost Town for “Wurld” and Adekunle Gold for writing Davido’s “1 Milli”. Simi was one of the only women to win an award at The Headies.

Previous post
Next post
Related Posts
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *